Categorical and English Learners

  • The Categorical and English Language Learners office is responsible for implementing and overseeing federal and state grant programs at the district and school site level. These programs are designed to supplement the needs of students beyond the general fund regular education program. These resources provide equity in services so that all students have the opportunity to excel and successfully reach their goals. In addition, our department also supports and monitors the Local Control and Accountability Plan (LCAP).

    The Categorical and English Learners Development works with district, school site and community members as well as county and state agencies to ensure that the funds received are being used as intended and in the most effective way to meet the needs of the students.

  • English Language Learner Programs

         English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

         Latino Family Literacy (English / Spanish)

         English Language Development (ELD) California Standards


    ​Alternative Support Services Program

    The Alternative Support Services Program (formerly SES) is offered to schools that were previously designated as a Program Improvement School.  Students attending these schools may be eligible to apply for free tutoring services.  These tutoring services are in addition to those programs the students receive at school.  They must be provided outside the regular school hours.


    English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

    Currently, the English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the mandated state test for determining English language proficiency (ELP). It must be given to students whose primary language is one other than English. California and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten—or year one of a two-year kindergarten program, also referred to as transitional kindergarten—through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments: The Initial ELPAC and the Summative ELPAC. 


    For more information regarding the ELPAC, please click on the button below to be re-directed to the ELPAC website:

Contact Us